Client Permission Details

User permissions control the level of access that team members and clients have to the platform. Define which features individual users can and cannot access.

Clients are given access to each site individually. This means a client may have different permissions for each site assigned to them. You can only assign clients to sites that have been purchased.

Select Permissions


When adding or managing a user, select the permissions you would like to grant.

Full Editing Capabilities vs. Content Editing


To allow your clients to be in full control of the content and design of your site, grant them the Full editing capabilities permission level. This allows your clients to add and manage widgets, pages and popups, change global design, and control the settings of your site.

To allow your clients to manage the site content, but are concerned about them accidentally breaking the layout of your site, grant them the Content Editing permission level. Clients with Content Editing permissions gain limited access to editing, including text edits, and may work with the Content editor in widgets.

Site Comments


Providing access to the Site Comments feature allows your clients to give you specific feedback on their site. This important feature decreases confusion and allows you to have a record of client requests and how they are resolved. For more information, see Site Comments.

Site Comments are available based on your annual plan:

Plan Availability
Basic Plan Not available
Team Plan Open for communication between team members only
Agency Plan Open for communication between team members and 5 clients per month (calculated according to billing cycle, clients are additive)
Grandfathered DudaPro Users Open for communication between team members only. To enable client communication, contact support and sign up for a new plan. For more information about switching your account, see here.
Custom Plan If you are on a custom plan, contact your account manager directly for information on levels of access

*Any team or client communication that was made during the beta phase before February 3, 2019 is saved in your account in perpetuity.

Permission Dependency


Some permission levels have prerequisites. For example, in order for a user to have access to Site SEO, they must have access to the Edit Site permission level as well. When you select a permission, its prerequisites are automatically selected. Conversely, any dependent permissions are removed if a prerequisite permission is removed. The following are the dependencies within the permission levels:

  • Edit Site
    • Full Editing Capabilities
    • Content Editing
    • Developer Mode
    • Site SEO
    • Custom Domain
      • Republish
    • Site Backups
    • Reset Site
    • Push Notifications
    • Publish
      • Republish (requires Publish permission)
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Feedback on this article

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

×

Please Log in as a Pro

Priority Phone Support is available exclusively to Pros. Log in to your Pro account now to see our international support numbers.

Log In
Not a Pro? Purchase a Pro plan!