User permissions control the level of access that team members and clients have to the platform. Define which features individual users can and cannot access.
Clients are given access to each site individually. This means a client may have different permissions for each site assigned to them.
When adding or managing a user, select the permissions you would like to grant.
Full Editing Capabilities vs. Content Editing
To allow your clients to be in full control of the content and design of your site, grant them the Full editing capabilities permission level. This allows your clients to add and manage widgets, pages and popups, change site theme, and control the settings of your site.
To allow your clients to manage the site content, but are concerned about them accidentally breaking the layout of your site, grant them the Content Editing permission level. Clients with Content Editing permissions gain limited access to editing, including text edits, and may work with the Content editor in widgets.
Manage Connected Data vs. Edit Connected Data
Connected Data permissions can be assigned in addition to Full Editing Capabilities for clients who need access to Connected Data.
To allow your client to add, edit, and use widgets with Connected Data, grant them the Manage Connected Data permission level. This includes the Content Library permission and allows the client to use and edit connected data, connect widgets, and create and disconnect dynamic pages. If the Manage Connected Data permission is revoked, the client will no longer be able to see the Connected Data icon or the option to edit connections in widgets and dynamic pages. The client will still be able to edit data in widgets with content editors. Widgets without content editors can be edited in the Content Library.
To allow your client to edit widgets with Connected Data, grant them Edit Connected Data permission level. This permission can be granted without the Content Library permission so that the client cannot edit the connections between the Content Library and the widgets using Connected Data. If the Edit Connected Data permission is revoked, the client will no longer have access to the Connected Data popup.
Edit Connected Data permission can be assigned with the Limited Editing permission instead of Full Editing. This allows the client to directly edit widgets with content editors. Widgets without content editors will have to be edited in the Content Library.
Providing access to the Site Comments feature allows your clients to give you specific feedback on their site. This important feature decreases confusion and allows you to have a record of client requests and how they are resolved. For more information, see Site Comments.
Site Comments are available based on your annual plan, to learn more see Plans.
Some permission levels have prerequisites. For example, in order for a user to have access to Site SEO, they must have access to the Edit Site permission level as well. When you select a permission, its prerequisites are automatically selected. Conversely, any dependent permissions are removed if a prerequisite permission is removed. The following are the dependencies within the permission levels:
- Edit Site
- Full Editing Capabilities
- Content Editing
- Developer Mode
- Site SEO
- Custom Domain
- Site Backups
- Reset Site
- Push Notifications
- Republish (requires Publish permission)